Cape idea 2 – from a single piece of fabric and some hemp thread!

Cape 2  from a  single piece of fabric and some hemp thread.

Sep 12 13 055

Hemp Thread – yes Hemp!  It is .2mm and I think too big for my machines so hand stitching is in order.

Sep 12 13 056

Recently purchased wool plaid from the thrift store was begging to be a wrap. It measured 172cm long and 155 wide.

Sep 12 13 037

So, I started to fold at one corner 8 inches ( I use both metric and imperial in my sewing and cooking – it comes from starting my school years in imperial measurements and having to learn metric in middle school) from the raw edge and folded to the count of 10. Secured it with some pink hemp thread As this is only a test, I hand basted the raw edge of the plaid with more pink hemp.

Sep 12 13 050

Then I got another Idea and it was not to pleat the left side but to bring it up in a swanky way.  To complete it I did a fast chain stitch on the left side to keep the folds in place for the drape of the hood.

Sep 12 13 060Sep 12 13 061

So this is what I now have hanging out with Daisy (yes, I named the thing that pretends to be me for these photo shoot.)

Plad Cape with folds 1Plad Cape with folds back 2Plaid Cape front 3

The beginnings of a cape.  It is asymmetrical but has a nice look.  To finish this, I need to baste the bottom hem as it is the cut side of the fabric, craft an opening for the right hand and imagine a closure for the front.

But should I take the time to finish it or rip it apart and make a skirt? Or pants, or vest? you get the idea.  Feedback is always appreciated.

I have already started a new one but it is only pinned.  It is a dusty rose-pink from the 80’s,  a woven silk with a very nice drape. It is my next part of the little sewing no cutting capes that bellow from my fabric stash.

4 thoughts on “Cape idea 2 – from a single piece of fabric and some hemp thread!

    • Just give me a heads up so I can clear my calendar, clean up the joint and make you some tea! Up close the capes may be closer to resembling chaos and not the brilliance that you have bestowed upon them. But as both are a work in progress (WIP for short) maybe we will both be right!

Leave a Reply

