Folkware #209–Walking Skirt

The walking skirt front

The walking skirt hemThis is a fun skirt to make.  I have several that I wear – one in hemp summer cloth for summer and two in wool for winter.

Here is the post when I reworked the hemp summer skirt – https://austerity101.wordpress.com/2012/08/20/the-fix-the-folkware-walking-skirt-in-hemp-summer-cloth-revisited/

My partner found for me some red denim that has a velveteen brush like finish on the right side. Total cost $4.00 for the skirt. The tread was given to me and the closure was a find at a thrift store in a bag of buttons and such.

Patterns 001Patterns 007

The material is not part of the recommended list as it is normally too heavy but this is just a bit lighter than the regular denim so I went ahead with the cut.

The pattern is an easy sew except for the placket – it can be tricky. Here is a close up of the back seem just below the placket opening.

Red walking skirt construstion and morning dew 028Red walking skirt construstion and morning dew 027Red walking skirt construstion and morning dew 029

The placket sewn to the extending flap, showing the opening , and a placement of where it will go on the back panels.

Red walking skirt construstion and morning dew 026Red walking skirt construstion and morning dew 024

A small clip is needed for the opening to function properly.  Red walking skirt construstion and morning dew 021Red walking skirt construstion and morning dew 030This is the trickiest part of the construction.  Attaching the bottom of the placket to the skirt while maintaining the top stitching on the placket itself.

Today 015The placket in place – I was not happy with the placket as it buckled at at the bottom opening so I ripped it out and cleaned it up.  Once finished only one button or in this case the hook will be necessary to secure my modesty!

In this shot above I have the back pleated but the end result was an overly large back side on an already large lady so I removed the pleats and inserted a gather as per the instructions.  To gather heavy material – use dental floss!  It holds forever and doesn’t break under the weight. Today 020I secure one end with a pin and pull so that I have an even texture along the line, baste to secure and ensure that there are no unsightly folds in the seam.

The basting after the gathering

the finished gather

The finished  gather.  (please note that this is the correct color of the fabric – I have too much still to do to correct each photograph.)

Red walking skirt construstion and morning dew 018Gentile has taken a liking to the ironing board and she is as stubborn as she is old so it can take a bit to get her to share the space!

For all of my waistbands I insert an elastic band the width of the finished band to keep the waistband from folding when I sit.  This allows for a long wearing waistband with the right amount of firmness at all times and no unsightly folds.The waistband

I ran over the basting with a 2.5 stitch to secure the waistband, clipped the edges ( perhaps a little too close) and the clip take two

slip stitched the waist band into place

Slip stiches

With the waistband secure, I moved on to the hem.  For a rare change, I actually ironed my allowance up.  Normally I just turn on the sewing machine and away I go.  As it is denim and with the a straight stich  on a denim hem has an annoying habit of turning up, and this can very hard to iron out..  To stop this I did an embroidery stich over the hem.  It adds color and dimension to this very red skirt and will keep the bottom smooth.

thanks  for taking the time to read about my adventure in sewing.

8 thoughts on “Folkware #209–Walking Skirt

  1. I have always wanted to sew on a folkwear pattern, but never have done. I love the ethnic period costumes with all their rich detail. I like the detail on the placket; I can see that it would be easier with lighter weight fabric, but your work turned out very nicely even with a bit heavier cloth. Looks great!

    • It feels great though I should have made the waist a little smaller as I have lost some weight of late. No problem though as I can easily add a second hook and it still looks great. It will soften over time and wear beautifully. I love the folkware patterns. I have many and each are well constructed. The varsity jacket is a great pattern – I have made 4 of these to date, the Afghan Nomad dress 2, the Kinsale cloak 1, French Cheesemaker’s Smock 1, the little kittle 1, and I have a several others that I have yet to find time to make. They are well worth the investment and most have a timeless attribute to the style.

          • That’s an interesting perspective, Cathy. I always think of the Folkwear patterns as being highly detailed rather than clean lined, although I think I understand what you mean, especially with the skirt you’re working on. It does have an elegant simplicity. I suppose it is possible to be both simple in lines, but detailed in the finer points of a garment.

          • They are simple in construction overall, simple cuts with great finishing details – the ones that I like at any rate. The Afghan dress is really only a series of rectangles put together in such a way to create a flowing dress. The detail is in the finishing touches and embellishments. As is life or so I have found. Thanks for the comments and the interest in my blog!

    • The pattern is an easy sew and the finished results are a classic skirt that garners a lot of compliments. It is a flattering cut for any size of woman. And best of all it is easy to ware! The material was a thrift shop find by my partner and in total the skirt cost me 4$ to make.

Leave a Reply

