A Blue Hemp Dress

First off, Dresses are so much easier than coats!Solstice finishings 002

I cut the dress out of a modified pattern of the coat.  Yes, the same but not the same.

I bought in the ease and lengthen the bottom to become a skirt.  I love the feel of the material swishing around my ankles so I made it a maxi.

I tucked up the sleeves from a gather to a tuck  and it falls nicely from the shoulders.  Solstice finishings 003

The dress is made of 55% Hemp and 45% organic cotton so it is a keeper. As this is hemp I have taken upon myself not to finish the seams in any way as hemp has a tendency to just act like Velcro when washed a few times at the raw edges.  So I am keeping my fingers crossed that whole dress doesn’t fall apart meantime.  If the raw edges do begin to deteriorate I will do a Hong Kong finish.  Only time will tell.

Start to finish 3hrs for the dress and 35hrs for the coat.  Dresses are so much easier!

7 thoughts on “A Blue Hemp Dress

Leave a Reply

